Hello world.

So, I’ve been out of pocket for awhile. I’ve moved out of the mission house and am living with Carlos and Mayra Ruiz and their 4 month old baby Carlitos and Nancy and her 7 year old daughter Briyit all the way across town in Minerva. I really like the new house, have a lot more space too myself and my Spanish is certainly improving. However with the rain and a few road closures the drive seems infinitely long from Minerva to the other side of town, it’s really only about 10-15 min.
I’ve been super busy lately but good. I’m teaching English 5 days a week at a local English Academy. I have a class of 3-5 year olds that meets four afternoons a week. A class of 4 college students that meets 2 mornings a week and a class of 3 adults that meets for 3 hours on Saturday mornings.
I’m still studying voice and piano on Fridays and Saturdays and just finished up my midterms about 3 weeks ago. I did really good on three of my midterms and ok on the fourth one. Apparently time to study is escaping me.
On Wednesdays I’m helping Carlos and Mayra teach bible classes in a public elementary school in Zaculeu Ruinas. The kids are so tiny and sweet. There are about 9 different classes and we spend about 20 minutes in each class teaching a short lesson and doing a craft or activity. The kids are really receptive and welcoming and it has been a really good experience so far.
In two weeks we have a team from The Village Church coming down to Guatemala City to work with fireman in the captial. Scott, Daniza and I will be going up to stay with them a few days on May 15th and then I will be heading out for Texas on May 18th.
My little sister is graduating from highschool the first week of June so I’m headed off to Chicago for a few days to see a friend and then the rest of the time I will be in Texas with the friends and family.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jamie Hipp said,

    You certainly have been busy…good to hear about what you’ve been up to. See you soon.

  2. 2

    Nora said,

    Kailah Grace!

    I love your picture! Beautiful!

    Looking forward to you being back in Texas! Zemler’s can’t wait to see Kailah!!!

    Of course, your best friend, Johana says…”well, maybe I am excited a little bit!”
    Princesa…

    Love you!
    -Nora


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

